AI system - Pytorch on Linux

Does anybody have a reliable source for Nvidia boards? One of my sons is a PhD AI student and has to build a machine to perform his research. I think he/ we (I’m helping financially here) are looking for a GTX 1080 ti to be the centerpiece of the system.

Of course we are looking for suggestions on this and the other components that need to be acquired. He’s going to be running Pytorch on the Linux OS.

Comments??

2 Likes

So from what I read PyTorch is primarily for Intel Processors and Cuda cores. So I would stay away from AMD CPU’s. This article doesn’t exactly explain min requirements but does stress the need for High End CPU, GPU, and large amounts of RAM.

I am think you are going to want something like this. It is a scaled down version of what our AI server is here at work. Along with your 1 or 2 1080ti’s. Not sure what the budget is like but from what I read in that article I would scale down the CPU budget wise first. I have no actual experience building an AI machine just trying to look at what we have at work for AI and scale it back. Titan V is 3k but meant for AI.

https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/cc-get-started-pytorch/index.html

1 Like

It also suggests using these.

1 Like

Maybe it is not as intensive as IBM made it out to be just found this article that may help in the build process.

If you cant tell I love spec’ing out computer hardware hehe. Totally should be working right now.

1 Like