GPU Rig Checklist

I am new to mining but following this guide to piece my first rig together.

http://www.coinminingrigs.com/how-to-build-a-6-gpu-mining-rig/

I am planning on ordering gear asap. Would you guys change anything in that list? I am going to go with the RX 580s but otherwise everything else to the specs on that list.

3 Likes

reposting. you can avoid expenses for hd, windows, keyboard/mice, and monitor.

check it out.

2 Likes

looks interesting but I would rather do it as autonomous as possible.

2 Likes

it is autonomous. its basically linux on a usb, and you can monitor your rigs remotely.

2 Likes

is the only advantage saving money on windows and monitor etc.?

1 Like

haha no bro. its ease of use too. would your rather have to plug your monitor btwn 5 rigs figuring things out, or just stick a usb in each of them, and monitor remotely. im scaling quite a bit right now, and there is no way i could do so using windows.

2 Likes

ok I get it, for scaling up and ease of use. Makes sense. I will look into it for sure. Is there a good alternative for gpu mining when Casper comes out? Monero?

1 Like

casper will not come out for years. not in my opinion. vitalik is dangling that POS carrot, so that asic manufacturers dont completely destroy ethereum difficulty. maybe @peter can chime in on this topic?

1 Like

Who knows when or/if ETH will go POS. Only Vitalik knows when he will choose to switch it over. Don’t forget to buy a power switch unless the motherboard has an onboard power switch.

The real question is going to be “Where do you get the GPUs?”

3 Likes

GPU’s are seriously non-existent! I thought I found a supplier at a great price (spoke on the phone) and a delivery was imminent to find an email saying they got it wrong and probably a month’s wait!

1 Like