My new project: cryptocurrency by sector database

I’m working on a new project. I want to take the top 250 coins and organize them into a sector so that the data across sectors of different cryptos can more easily be pulled and manipulated and displayed visually.

But…I need some help.

I’m not a huge Altcoin addict like many of you here on the pub.

This is going to be the biggest project I’ve ever worked on and I’m still learning every step of the way, from the actual sectors we think exist in the crypto space down to the actual MySQL execution.

@Amorfati actually inspired this idea with his post seen here

So I figure his list is a good place to start. I eventually want to catalogue every coin on coinpuffs, or do so to the best of my ability…but for now I want to start with the top 250 on coinpuffs.com

This list is going to be largely subjective, overlapping, and probably change on the reg, but I figure crowdsourcing something like this is the best way to go.

Here is my working database

Give me your feedback cryptonation. Let’s make this thing sexy.

What needs to be done for the database…

• Create a FULL list of sectors across the crypto space (how narrow should it go? How many sectors can there realistically be?)

• Decide whether to only include functional products or testnets

• Should overlap be included? Meaning should multiple coins be viable in multiple sectors? Could this potentially skew data if multiple coins are allowed in multiple sectors? Probably.

• Cateogrize top 250 coins on coinpuffs (gradually expand)

• How to sort out ambiguity of a coin? Just assign it to the best guess category or omit it given its unclear direction?

• **Should ERC-20 tokens and testnets be considered “crypto equities” instead of cryptocurrencies?