Noob here with issues setting up rig

Hey Everyone,

I’m a noob when it comes to building a miner and/or gaming rigs. I’m putting together my rig and have come up with some issues that I need help on. I currently have a 3 GPU rig (2 more on the way). I’ve installed windows (64bit) and updated to the latest version 1809. I’m trying to install the GPU drivers, but it says Nvidia Drivers are not compatible with this version of windows. I’ve uninstalled any default drivers and the Nvidia Graphics Drivers still wont install.

Below are some details about the rig:
1x EVGA 1080 SC
1x MSI 1070 ti
1x Zotec 1070 ti
Gigabyte HD 110 D3A motherboard
Celeron CPU
4GB Ram
550W ATX PS for motherboard
1200W Server PS for GPUs

In addition to the driver-install issue above, I have other questions that I’m hoping you can help with.

1. How will the different brand GPU’s affect driver installs? Will 1 Nvidia driver install work for all GPU’s?

2. I don’t have the GPU’s powered on at the moment. When I do plug in the screen goes blank. Is it because video is now being fed through one of the GPU’s instead of the motherboard?

3. The Zotac GPU has 2 molex connectors (16pins total), vs the 1 (8 pins). Do I need to connect both connectors to the server power supply?

Any help is much appreciate.

Thanks,

Joel

2 Likes

Hey @jcastro619! Both @Nemisist419 and @CryptoMykel can give you a hand troubleshooting and answering your mining questions. I see most of your questions are about hardware, and I can offer you some answers.

1. Firstly, install the nvidia driver manually using device manager. In a mixed GPU environment, install nvidia drivers before amd drivers. https://cryptovoid.net/amd-nvidia-in-same-machine/
  2. Consult your motherboard manual, enter bios, switch default video to on-board
  3. Third, use either two molex or an 8pin. It’s meant for those using a lesser power supply that doesn’t have additional 8pin connectors.
2 Likes