Trezor address problem

Hi All,

I am new to Trezor one wallet. I want to receive BTC in the wallet. I went to Account 1 and receive Tag. I clicked to see full address and confirm in the hardware key also. But next time I wanted to receive BTC again, it showed a new address instead of the old. Then I saw there is a “Show previous address”. So can I use the old address or have to use the new address every time I deposit BTC?

Thanks for your reply!
Adam

You can use the old address again if you want. But it is recommended and by default that you use a new address for every transaction. Some cases where you use the same address more than once would be mining to the BTC wallet or white-listing your address on an exchange to withdraw to.

Seikin, Thanks! Because i bind the address to a Exchange withdrawal address. So I dont need to change the setting every time when I want to withdraw BTC.

Using a different address for every transaction is a way the devs added a false sense of privacy to Bitcoin. The idea is that if you never use the same “checking account” number then it will be harder to track you. That’s just simply not true in practice and all it has really done is make so many users like yourself confused about how to transact with Bitcoin. In reality, mass adoption users don’t care about the privacy because they have nothing to hide.

Wrong assumption. They don’t have the alternative, really. Or didn’t have. Until now.

Regarding the false “sense of privacy”, I’d suggest you to research a bit more. I’d recommend you start from here: