What is cloud mining? A short guide

Without revealing too much information about myself, I will just say that I’m a professional miner, that’s my day job.

With the influx of newcomers I want to set the record straight about what cloud mining is, and what it isn’t.

Question: Is cloud mining a scam?

Answer: That depends which provider you use!

There are many cloud mining providers. Some of them are scammy, and others are not. There are several questions you can ask to boost your confidence level, but in the end, it’s quite hard to KNOW if it is or not. Therefore, I would recommend diversifying if you do get into cloud mining. That means mining more than one coin, and using more than one provider.

Question: How do I spot the scams?

Answer: Here’s a checklist you can use.

Check if there are any videos of the mine in action. If you see only stock photos, no bio on the founders, only videos that do not have their branding on it, it’s more likely to be a scam.

Check their social media. Do they post on twitter and FB? Do people respond? What does the comment section look like?

How long have they been in business?

Are they offering free hash power? If they do, it’s a red flag. This is a common tactic used in pyramid schemes.

Don’t just see if people are making positive youtube videos, see if there are old videos that actually show payouts. Then read the comment section of those videos.

This list could go on forever, but just remember, do your own research! Asking if something is a scam on a forum is only going to get you so far.

Question: Some people say ALL cloud mining is a scam. Why would you sell contracts when it’s more profitable to mine yourself?

Answer: This comes down to how businesses work, and there’s a very good reason.
Think about this, what are the two main scenarios for a business? They are expansion and retraction. In good times, you grow, make more money, everything is great. But, are things always like this?